My vegetables

Lettuce (salad)

Lettuce, an annual plant of the Asteraceae family, is most common under the species Lactuca sativa. It is widely consumed, and therefore cultivated in the garden, for its leaves eaten as raw salad. The best known and most used varieties of lettuce are butter lettuce, leaf lettuce (Oak leaf and Lollo), romaine, batavia and fat lettuce (Sucrine, Rougette...).

Easy to grow, lettuce is a relatively simple vegetable to cultivate.Its main advantage is that it can be eaten practically all year round if the seedlings are well spread out. Its main disadvantage: it goes to seed very quickly if it lacks water and can "rot" if it is too humid, in a greenhouse for example. If it has already gone to seed, you can eat the tender leaves without any problem.

To plant lettuce, there are two solutions in terms of timing: sow seeds in pots from March to June for summer lettuces, or in August and September for winter seedlings (with protection for the cold season). In both cases, the plantation of this vegetable is done then in a partially sunny place of the kitchen garden, and in a fresh and humus soil, when some leaves appear. Without burying the base of the plant completely, respect a distance of at least 30 cm between each plant. The watering, which should not be abundant, must be regular. For the harvest, it is necessary to count 8 to 10 weeks after its sowing (or more in colder period). It is enough to cut with a knife at 2 cm above the collar. New shoots will then appear.

Associations

Calendar

J F M A M J J A S O N D

Sowing indoors

                                               

Sowing outdoors

                                               

Planting

                                               

Harvest

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined property: Garden::$is_mod

Filename: helpers/site_helper.php

Line Number: 534

Backtrace:

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/helpers/site_helper.php
Line: 534
Function: _error_handler

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/controllers/Garden.php
Line: 176
Function: get_contents_fields

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/index.php
Line: 323
Function: require_once

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined property: Garden::$is_mod

Filename: helpers/site_helper.php

Line Number: 534

Backtrace:

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/helpers/site_helper.php
Line: 534
Function: _error_handler

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/controllers/Garden.php
Line: 176
Function: get_contents_fields

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/index.php
Line: 323
Function: require_once

Quand planter la laitue (salade) ?
Mon potager

Laitue (salade)

La laitue, plante annuelle de la famille des Astéracées, est plus commune sous l’espèce Lactuca sativa. Elle est très largement consommée, et donc cultivée au jardin, pour ses feuilles consommées en salade crue. Les variétés de laitue les plus connues et utilisées sont la laitue beurre, la laitue à couper (Feuille de chêne et Lollo), la romaine, la batavia et la laitue grasse (Sucrine, Rougette…). 

Facile à cultiver, la laitue est un légume relativement simple à cultiver. Son principal avantage : il est possible d'en consommer pratiquement toute l'année en étalant bien les semis. Son principal inconvénient : elle monte très vite en graines si elle manque d'eau et peut "pourrir" s'il fait trop humide, dans une serre par exemple. Si la montée en graine a déjà commencé, vous pourrez sans aucun problème consommer les feuilles restées tendres.

Pour planter la laitue, deux solutions au niveau du calendrier : semer des graines en pots de mars à juin pour les laitues d’été, ou en aout et septembre pour les semis d’hiver (en prévoyant une protection pour la saison froide). Dans les deux cas, la plantation de ce légume se fait ensuite dans un endroit partiellement ensoleillé du potager, et dans un sol frais et humifère, quand quelques feuilles apparaissent. Sans enterrer complètement la base du plant, respecter une distance de 30 cm au moins entre chaque plant. L’arrosage, qui ne doit pas être abondant, doit être régulier. Pour la récolte, il faut compter 8 à 10 semaines après son semis (ou plus en période plus froide). Il suffit de couper avec un couteau à 2 cm au-dessus du collet. De nouvelles pousses apparaitront ensuite.

Associations

Calendrier

J F M A M J J A S O N D

Semis sous abri

                                               

Semis extérieur

                                               

Plantation

                                               

Récolte

                                               

Astuces