My vegetables

Turnip

The turnip is a root vegetable belonging to the Brassicaceaefamily ,like cabbage. This vegetable originated in Eastern Europe and has always been very popular throughout the centuries because of its taste and ease of production. The turnip is a key ingredient in many rustic recipes and regional dishes. It is especially praised for its nutritional value, which is particularly sought after in autumn and winter. Gorged with water, it is an important source of vitamin C.

There are about thirty varieties of turnips. These are of varying shapes and colours and are divided into three families: early varieties (the Milan turnip), seasonal varieties (the Nancy turnip) and late varieties (the hard white winter turnip). The turnip is an easy food to grow. It does not appreciate the sun and is satisfied with water and a little compost. Simply sow it in the vegetable garden to plant it. It is an annual plant that can be cultivated twice a year and grows throughout the year.

It is preferable to plant the turnip in a fresh soil rich in humus. It grows best in a mild, temperate and humid climate. The supply of water must be substantial enough for the root to develop well and its taste is not too bitter. As for the calendar, the turnip is generally harvested two or three months after sowing.

Calendar

J F M A M J J A S O N D

Sowing indoors

                                               

Sowing outdoors

                                               

Planting

                                               

Harvest

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined property: Garden::$is_mod

Filename: helpers/site_helper.php

Line Number: 534

Backtrace:

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/helpers/site_helper.php
Line: 534
Function: _error_handler

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/controllers/Garden.php
Line: 176
Function: get_contents_fields

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/index.php
Line: 323
Function: require_once

Quand planter le navet au potager ?
Mon potager

Navet

Le navet est un légume racine appartenant à la famille des Brassicacées, comme les choux. Ce légume originaire d'Europe de l'Est a toujours été très apprécié à travers les siècles à cause de son goût et de sa facilité de production. Le navet est un ingrédient phare de nombreuses recettes rustiques et de multiples plats régionaux. Il est notamment loué pour ses apports nutritionnels particulièrement recherchées en automne et en hiver. Gorgé d'eau, il est une source importante en vitamines C. 

Il existe une trentaine de variétés de navets. Celles-ci sont de formes et de couleurs variables et sont réparties en trois familles : les variétés précoces (le navet de Milan), de saison (le navet de Nancy) et tardives (le navet blanc dur d'hiver). Le navet est un aliment facile à faire pousser. Il n'apprécie pas le soleil et se contente d'eau et d'un peu de compost. Il suffit de le semer dans le potager pour le planter. Il s'agit d'une plante annuelle qui se cultive deux fois dans l'année et qui pousse tout au long de celle-ci. 

Il est préférable de planter le navet dans un sol frais et riche en humus. Il pousse d'autant mieux dans un climat doux, tempéré et humide. L'apport d'eau doit être assez conséquent pour que la racine puisse se bien développer et que son goût ne soit pas trop amer. Quant au calendrier, le navet se récolte généralement deux ou trois mois après le semis.

Calendrier

J F M A M J J A S O N D

Semis sous abri

                                               

Semis extérieur

                                               

Plantation

                                               

Récolte

                                               

Astuces