My vegetables

Peas

Inspiring tales, cultivated for thousands of years, the pea is an emblematic vegetable of the vegetable gardens. It is even said that it was particularly appreciated by Louis XIV, King of France. Different varieties are represented in our gardens, such as the dwarf pea, the round pea, the white-flowered pea, etc. To make it simple, they can be classified in two main categories belonging to the Fabaceae family: those to be shelled (the pod is removed), and the "mange-tout" (to be eaten in their entirety).

The pea must be sown in the first half of the year (from February to May). In full ground, it will be necessary to draw furrows of 5 cm of depth, distant of a half-meter the ones from the others. For climbing varieties, stakes will help them grow and bear fruit. The soil should be constantly moist to keep the plants cool. Mulching is a good option to achieve this.

A few weeks after the first leaves appear, it is necessary to consolidate the stakes on which the vegetable will be supported, and to hoe the base to bury it slightly. All this will favour the development of the roots and the growth of the peas. For the harvest, the calendar takes us about four months after planting the seeds. It only remains to cook them quickly, or to make preserves for a longer conservation.

Calendar

J F M A M J J A S O N D

Sowing indoors

                                               

Sowing outdoors

                                               

Planting

                                               

Harvest

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined property: Garden::$is_mod

Filename: helpers/site_helper.php

Line Number: 534

Backtrace:

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/helpers/site_helper.php
Line: 534
Function: _error_handler

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/controllers/Garden.php
Line: 176
Function: get_contents_fields

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/index.php
Line: 323
Function: require_once

A PHP Error was encountered

Severity: Notice

Message: Undefined property: Garden::$is_mod

Filename: helpers/site_helper.php

Line Number: 534

Backtrace:

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/helpers/site_helper.php
Line: 534
Function: _error_handler

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/application/controllers/Garden.php
Line: 176
Function: get_contents_fields

File: /home/egjjdvh/www/index.php
Line: 323
Function: require_once

Quand et comment planter les petits pois au potager ?
Mon potager

Petit pois

Inspirant des contes, cultivé depuis des milliers d’années, le petit pois est un légume emblématique des potagers. On dit même qu’il était particulièrement apprécié de Louis XIV, roi de France. Différentes variétés sont représentées dans nos jardins comme le pois nain, le pois rond, le pois à fleurs blanches, etc. Pour faire plus simple, on peut les classer dans deux grandes catégories appartenant à la famille des Fabacées : ceux à écosser (la gousse est enlevée), et les "mange-tout" (à déguster dans leur intégralité).

Le petit pois doit se semer dans le premier semestre de l’année (de février à mai environ). En pleine terre, il faudra tracer des sillons de 5 cm de profondeur, distant d’un demi-mètre les uns des autres. Pour les variétés grimpantes, des tuteurs les aideront à grandir et porter du fruit. La terre devra être constamment humide pour garder les plants au frais. Le paillage est une bonne option pour y arriver.

Quelques semaines après l’apparition des premières feuilles, il est nécessaire de consolider les rames sur lesquelles le légume va s’appuyer, et de biner la base pour l’enterrer légèrement. Tout cela favorisera le développement des racines et la croissance des pois. Pour la récolte, le calendrier nous emmène environ quatre mois après avoir planter les graines. Il ne reste plus qu’à les cuisiner rapidement, ou d’en faire des conserves pour une conservation plus longue.

Calendrier

J F M A M J J A S O N D

Semis sous abri

                                               

Semis extérieur

                                               

Plantation

                                               

Récolte

                                               

Astuces